butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Rise & Shine, New Mexico! Huevos Rancheros

on August 12, 2013

I’m kicking off a regular feature on the breakfast specialties of our United States with a state with the dreamy nickname, “Land of Enchantment.”

October 5-13, 2013 Albuquerque, NM

October 5-13, 2013 Albuquerque, NM

You’ve got to love a place with an annual internationally renowned hot-air balloon festival, whose state bird is the roadrunner, and who can claim as a native my second-favorite TV character, Ethel Mertz. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I’m talking about New Mexico. Colonized by Spain, its breakfast specialty is huevos rancheros.

The basic recipe is warmed corn or wheat tortillas topped with fried eggs, salsa, refried beans, sometimes queso fresco and avocado. I adapted the basic recipe to make a breakfast pizza this morning: whole wheat crust, hot salsa, fried eggs, and feta cheese.

Muy delicioso!

Muy delicioso!

I know, I know…I just didn’t have any baker’s parchment this morning. Didn’t look this good when I finally got it off the foil, but it sure tasted yummy.

Good enough for my little roadrunner.

Grace demands a little nibble from my breakfast and who am I to refuse?

Grace demands a little nibble from my breakfast and who am I to refuse?

 

Leave a Reply

