butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Breakfast–Sweet or Savory?

on August 20, 2013

If you were stranded on a desert island, which would you pursue? The mangoes or the wild pig? That’s a roundabout way of asking: sugar fiend or salt addict? I’m the latter. I could sit all day next to a basket of donuts without getting my fingers powdery, but put me in front of a tray of bagels and salty lox and I’m a goner!

Harry N. Abrams, May 2013

Harry N. Abrams, May 2013

Hollis Wilder’s Savory Bites could be my breakfast bible (if I hadn’t just published my own book, Breakfast Eye-Opening Fresh Flavors for Before Your Eyes Are Really Open, available today to members of The Good Cook Book Club).

 

The only use for a muffin tin I have in Breakfast is to make a shirred egg in ham which is heavenly. Hollis has innumerable ways to use the thing, including to make quiches that work for both “Rise and shine!” and “Bottoms up!”

Just the right amount of savory for the first meal of the day--sweet!

Just the right amount of savory for the first meal of the day–sweet!

Leave a Reply

