butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Aloha Summer! Tropical Parfait

on August 26, 2013
Conjuring up cool ocean breezes for the last, relaxed days of a waning season.

Conjuring up cool ocean breezes for the last, relaxed days of a waning season.

I don’t want to let summer go, but the seasons in the Northeast will roll on, no matter what I say (a top-five reason I live here, to be honest). I’ll say good-bye to August this week with bold colors and bright flavors, chilled parfaits, muffins packed with fresh fruits and nuts, and more. (You can tell I work in bookselling; “and more” is the copywriter’s fall-back when you’ve run out of content to list!)

Why don't I eat my breakfast out of crystal every morning?

Why don’t I eat my breakfast out of crystal every morning?

I just ate this parfait while I listened to IZ Kamakawiwo’Ole sing “Over the Rainbow,” one of my favorite discoveries on YouTube ever!  Chopped, toasted macadamia nuts over fresh bananas, chopped pineapple, flaked coconut, blood orange sorbet and vanilla yogurt, with a waterfall of lime juice.

A breakfast this pretty, this sweet and refreshing, made in less than 10 minutes  (with a few extra minutes for chilling the glass), would make any girl click her heels three times and say, “There’s no place like home.”

Leave a Reply

