butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Kitchen Experiments–What Shall I Do With Bacon?

on August 31, 2013

Yesterday was International Bacon Day–and boy, do I love bacon! Looking around my larder this morning, I decided to try a twist on angels on horseback, oysters wrapped in bacon and broiled. I cut a quarter of a ripe plum, wrapped it in half a slice of raw bacon and broiled it until I was afraid the kitchen would catch on fire.

Scoop these up with a spoon!

Scoop these up with a spoon!

Even so, the bacon was not crispy enough for me. The plums got so soft, they oozed out of the bacon. Not bad, but my plan to introduce “Sweet Temptations” to the world needs more work.

I opted for a green salad with crispy, crumbled bacon, plum slices, and yellow pepper strips in a balsamic vinaigrette. On a humid late-summer morning, it was cold and crunchy, had that sweet-savory punch, and the fresh fruit and veg  assuaged my guilt for having eaten four slices of bacon before 9:30. Give it a try!

I need a pair of madras Bermuda shorts in this color combination!

I need a pair of madras Bermuda shorts in this color combination!

Leave a Reply

