butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

First Day of “School” Breakfast

on September 3, 2013

I graduated from Manhattanville College in May 1978 which makes it 36 years since I went to my last “first day of school.”

Let's hear it for liberal arts!

Let’s hear it for liberal arts!

But why should schoolkids get all the fun? I woke up feeling excited by September’s possibilities and decided to kick-start the “new year” with pancakes.

So what besides the basics of flour, sugar, milk, eggs, etc.,  do I have in the house at 6am? A bright yellow lemon, a deep-purple plum and cottage cheese–perfect!

One of my favorite bakers is Lauren Chattman, a pastry chef and author of so many books, including MOM’S BIG BOOK OF BAKING. These grown-up pancakes were adapted from her lemon-ricotta version with warm blueberry sauce.

I cooked the plums a bit too long; the sauce would've been better with chunks of fruit.

I cooked the plums a bit too long; the sauce would’ve been better with chunks of fruit.

These were bright with lemon flavor, but could’ve been fluffier (perhaps that’s the richness of the cottage cheese). The plum sauce was…nice. I give them a B.

Leave a Reply

