butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

9/11 Victims, rest in peace

on September 11, 2013

I remember exactly where I was when the first plane hit the World Trade Center. I can still recall the tension and, at the same time, a sense of community as I hurried home by foot up Sixth Avenue and through Central Park with thousands of other New Yorkers later that morning. But what I feel deepest in my bones to this day is sorrow and regret for the people and promise we lost in the terrorist attacks.

As soon as the New York Times started publishing their Pulitzer Prize winning Portraits shortly after September 11, 2001, my every morning was the same as always–a cup of coffee, a light breakfast, the newspaper–and profoundly different. In these brief profiles of the victims, I was taken into every borough and suburb of the city, into firehouses and police stations, onto trading floors and through the kitchens of Windows on the World. That series took me into the daily lives of people who had everything to live for…and were robbed of the chance.

Michael Thomas Quilty

Michael Thomas Quilty

We’ll never forget you. We will always honor your sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

