butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Swedish Fish for Breakfast

on September 25, 2013
My handsome husband in Stockholm

My handsome husband in Stockholm

These rice cakes are like little magic carpets, taking me back to all sorts of wonderful places! In spring 1999, Chuck and I took a fabulous two-week trip from Iceland to Norway to Sweden to Denmark, and back to the fjords in Norway. Every step of the way, we ate like royalty.

Each morning, whether we were in cosmopolitan Sweden, rural Norway or charming Denmark, we’d choose from an amazing smörgåsbord which always included herring in sour cream, herring in vinegar, herring in tomato sauce, herring in mustard sauce…it was heaven!

This morning, I could’ve been back on the banks of the fjords as I enjoyed my rice cake slathered in sour cream and topped with herring tidbits and dill. As they say in Norway, “Vær så god!”

I can't imagine why the Vikings ever left!

I can’t imagine why the Vikings ever left!

Leave a Reply

