butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Tears in my Orange Juice

on September 27, 2013

oranges

I don’t take my well-paying job lightly, God knows, in this day and age and in the publishing industry. But it’s not easy to go in with great enthusiasm and confidence when you know you’re saying good-bye to a colleague of oh-so-many years.

deb

We’ll be having a farewell party for Deb Sinclaire this afternoon. Before she was Editor-in-Chief of History Book Club and Book-of-the-Month Club, she worked as an assistant on The Good Cook in 1993, so I looked for a baking book that was published way back when. Lucky for me, since I didn’t have a lot of time to bake, I hit on Ann Byrne’s THE CAKE MIX DOCTOR.  I made two layers of her Orange Birthday Cake last night which soaked in orange syrup overnight. I made the frosting this morning and packed up the bits and pieces. I’ll frost it before the good-bye party at 3pm and hope that the “fake” cake will convey my sincere appreciation for her friendship.

cake mix doctor orange cake

As I worked with my my mom’s old Sunbeam hand mixer to make the frosting, I heard her say, so sensibly, “There, there, now…everything’s going to be all right.” Whatever happens in the near future, I know I’ve always treated my colleagues with respect and together, we’ve supported the authors who’ve made our lives more exciting with their dreams.

Leave a Reply

