butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Hump Day Breakfast

on October 2, 2013
I knew that guy!

I knew that guy!

Everyone’s pretty much over the “happier than a camel on Wednesday” ad from Geico, but as advertising goes these days, it gets the closest  to even a hint of the creativity and humor of the Golden Age.

levy's bread

Since I’m still on the uphill side of the hump this Wednesday morning, I thought I’d treat myself to an apple tart.

DSC01785

There’s nothing like a taste of France first thing in the morning. Now if only I had a shot of Calvados for my coffee! The puff pastry probably negates the benefits  of eating apples in the a.m. which is encouraged in this article, “Eat Like the French and Lose Weight.” I’m so glad they agree with me:  breakfast is non-negotiable.

And if you’re wondering how did France come into a discussion of camels? First, French food is always my go-to choice for a reward for anything, in this case, surviving the first half of a crazy-busy week. And France and Egypt have been entwined since the Middle Ages.

french street sign in cairo

Next week on Hump Day, I want to try Ful Medames, a traditional Egyptian breakfast that sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

