butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Brain Food for Breakfast

on October 5, 2013

Saturday mornings are about relaxing with the dog and my husband, if the poor guy’s not working, doing a few errands in the neighborhood, and tackling the New York Times crossword puzzle.

At a glance, I got two answers...it's gonna be a  tough fight.

At a glance, I got two answers…it’s gonna be a tough fight.

As the puzzle gets more difficult each day of the week, Saturday’s is a monster. David Sedaris once said it required a mind that could bend spoons.

My dad is pretty damn good at it. I was given this Metropolitan Diary cup by the New York Times when I submitted and they printed this exchange Dad had with some fellow barflies at Donohue’s. Dad overheard them struggling with the Saturday puzzle and offered a couple of clues. As he got up to go, one of these guys yelled after him, “Wait! Give us your cell phone number!”

I don’t know how I got started doing the puzzle. It was probably my mom’s influence. She did it every day in ink. We’d tease her by grabbing that section and a pen and pretending to fill in the squares. One day, on vacation maybe, I bought my own copy of the paper and tackled a Monday when I’d have had some chance of getting through it.

At Charleston Place in Boca Raton, Florida

At Charleston Place in Boca Raton, Florida

I wonder if I could boost my success rate by the brain food I eat? This “Eat Smart for a Healthier Brain” article on WedMD offers some very tasty choices: wild salmon, blueberries, avocados, pomegranate juice. It didn’t mention the buttered bagel I had this morning which, admittedly, has only made me want to go back to bed. Hey, Chuck’s working and Gracie’s fed and walked…maybe a nap will refresh me enough to get the answer to a six-letter word for “annual event since 1929, with ‘the.'”

P.S. This is my 50th post on Butterscotch Blastoff. The first person to like it will receive a copy of my new book, Breakfast Eye-opening Fresh Flavors for Before Your Eyes are Really Open. 

One response to “Brain Food for Breakfast

  1. Re: the Saturday, 10/5 New York Times crossword puzzle…I did it! The answer to the question in this morning’s post is “Oscars.” I admit I used the Bible to find out Herod’s realm (Judea) and my book club exclusive edition of the U.S. Presidents to find out the city named for Theodore Roosevelt’s VP (Fairbanks, AK). Once I got those two, I was off to the races.

Leave a Reply

