butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Milk for Breakfast–Blueberry Coffee Cake

on October 8, 2013

DSC01784

Who likes milk with their breakfast? Gracie does!

I grew up drinking whole milk and, while I’ve gone over to skim in my “old age,” I do love milk with my breakfast (and my lunch–when the clock strikes “cocktail hour,” then I turn to the hard stuff).

I must have a splash of hot milk in my morning coffee. I love milk on my oatmeal. I always pour a dribble of milk into the raw eggs before I scramble them. And this recipe for blueberry coffee cake from The Tasha Tudor Cookbook is the best I’ve ever tasted. What a half-cup of milk can do!

Copyright © 1993 by Tasha Tudor

Copyright © 1993 by Tasha Tudor

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Serves 9

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup shortening

1 farm-fresh egg, at room temperature

1/2 cup milk

2 cups unbleached flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen, not thawed

Topping

1/2 cup sugar

1/3 cup unbleached flour, sifted

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup (1/2 stick unsalted butter), softened

1/2 cup pecans, chopped (optional)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Grease and flour a 9x9x2-inch square cake tin.

In a mixing bowl, cream together the sugar and the shortening. Stir in the egg and then the milk. Sift in the flour, baking powder, and salt and mix quickly. Then carefully fold in the blueberries.

Spread the batter in the prepared pan. Combine all of the topping ingredients and sprinkle the mixture over the batter. Bake in the preheated oven for 45 to 50 minutes. Cut in squares and serve warm with butter.

Copyright © 1993 by Tasha Tudor

Leave a Reply

