butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Fall Harvest Breakfast

on October 9, 2013

pear illustration

Pears are in season and there’s nothing I love more than a fragrant, juicy blue-cheese pear turnover!

I leave a piece of puff pastry to defrost while Gracie and I go out for the newspaper and my coffee brews.

While Gracie wolfs down her kibble and treats, I cut out a square of pastry about 6″x6″.

Between perusing the front page and checking the obits, I preheat the oven to 400° and cover a baking sheet with parchment.

Under Gracie’s hungry stare, I peel, core, and chop half a pear. I scoop a little pear into her bowl and pile the rest in the bottom corner of the square. As she begs for more, I sprinkle the fruit with a little sugar and just a pinch of ginger, cloves, nutmeg, or cinnamon. After a sip of coffee, I put on blue cheese to taste and seal the edges.

It bakes for 15 minutes while I put together an outfit to wear to work. I ignore Gracie’s demands for a forkful, take that first bite, and enjoy!

DSC00018

Leave a Reply

