butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

B(ee) is for Breakfast

on October 21, 2013

Up in Richfield Springs this weekend, I watched as raw honey was extracted from beehives my sister- and brother-in-law are keeping in a secluded grove of old apple trees. My husband Chuck was the “smoker.”

Image

While some of the frames were only partially full, Sandy was happy that some were capped, laden with honey and covered in beeswax, a natural preservative. The wasps were happy, too!

Image

I was surprised how docile the honeybees were; none of us were stung, not even Grace who didn’t have the protection of canvas and mesh.

DSC01809

 

While I’ll have to wait for this particular honey to be harvested, I’ll enjoy my oatmeal tomorrow with dried cranberries, fresh apple, and honey my neighbor Shirley gave me after Rosh Hoshanah. Oats and honey…whoa Nelly, that’s delicious!

G&T Farms herds its cattle with horses; this handsome herder was resting after a long morning's work.

G&T Farms herds its cattle with horses; this handsome herder was resting after a long morning’s work.

Leave a Reply

