butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Blue Kitchen

on October 22, 2013

There I was last night on the subway at rush hour, my House Beautiful magazine an inch from my nose. I turned from page 115 to 116. Suddenly, the screech of the wheels on the tracks, the press of bodies against mine, the sickly florescent light all faded into the background as I took in… the Kitchen of the Month.

Design by Beth Martell and Enda Donagher

Design by Beth Martell and Enda Donagher

You may have noticed in my various photos of breakfast trays, linens, serving pieces, and such that I, too, have a thing for blue and white.

Arden Burleigh--a tea set I bought in 1976 in Oxford, England

Arden Burleigh–a tea set I bought in 1976 in Oxford, England

A selection of pitchers, each well used and beloved

A selection of pitchers, each well used and beloved

Still, that kitchen is maybe more blue than I would go for. And such a vibrant shade. Nature’s green outside the window helps to relieve the eyes. But what happens when winter comes and the trees are bare?

Would I do my kitchen in a combination of red, blue, and white?

kitchen red white and blue

That’s retro and so refreshing. Or yellow, blue and white?

kitchen yellow blue and white

“Bonjour!” I can smell the brioches. Or pink, blue and white?

kitchen pink blue and white

Calling all girls! Bloody Marys would not be unwelcome here. Or butterscotch, blue and white?

kitchen brown blue and white

Sweet!

But a kitchen’s real charm is not derived from the decor or the appliances, the size or the luxurious details. I’ve spent my happiest moments in a crowded, cluttered room with wine stains on the formica and cabinet handles that pinched your fingers. Because that’s where the family cooked and gossiped, ate and laughed, and nourished one another’s souls.

mom at the stove

11 Woodmill Road; Chappaqua, NY

Leave a Reply

