butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Sunday Morning Breakfast–Bourbon’d Fig French Toast

on October 27, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! I found a jar of Bourbon’d Figs in the back of the pantry.

DSC01831

I’d bought them at the Carrboro, N.C.’s farmer’s market when I was down in Chapel Hill to see Elizabeth Ruhl graduate from UNC.

DSC01303

I’d had lunch with the staff of the UNC Press and, to a woman, they raved about Farmer’s Daughter’s preserves. I bought a bunch of jars, gave some as gifts, heard the compliments, but let my Bourbon’d Figs get pushed back into the shadows of my cupboard. This morning, they re-emerged and I tried them on French toast.

Richer and more complex than maple syrup!

Richer and more complex than maple syrup!

It’s no wonder, “Our Bourbon’d Figs were selected for Cooking Light’s 2012 Taste Test Awards in the Artisanal category,” as April McGreger says on her web site.

And that’s my secret to quick, easy, fresh breakfasts: let the experts contribute their best. I’ve done a little preserving and enjoy it, but I don’t have the time to do more than a dozen jars of bread-and-butter pickles for summer.

DSC00942I love to support small business, be it the independent bookstore in the neighborhood, the family-owned hardware store, or farmers at pop-up greenmarkets. Without them, this would be a tasteless world, in every sense of the word.

 

 

Leave a Reply

