butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Breakfast Karma

on November 15, 2013

This post is the very definition of “what goes around comes around.”

The cupboard was a little bare this morning. I thought, “What can I do with…hmm…peanut butter, grape jelly, milk, butter…oh, no, no eggs?!” When in doubt, Google.

I discovered This Homemade Life, a charming blog from Alison Bickel, a photographer from the Midwest. She shared Peanut Butter Pancakes from Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s book, Color Me Vegan .  I’m unlikely to become a vegan, but if I were on the fence,  this refreshing, enticing book jacket and her pancakes might just push me over.

color me veganThe recipe couldn’t be simpler; the pancakes couldn’t be fluffier or tastier (obviously eggs don’t improve pancakes!):

1 1/4 cup flour

2 Tablespoons granulated sugar

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cup milk, dairy or non-dairy

1/4 cup peanut butter

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

In a small bowl or measuring cup, stir together the milk and peanut butter until smooth. Add to the dry ingredients and beat just until a batter is formed. Do not overbeat.

Lightly oil a nonstick skillet or griddle over medium heat. Spoon the batter by 1/4 cupfuls into the pan. Cook until golden brown on both sides. Serve immediately.

I halved the recipe which made 4 pancakes. I have eighth-cup and 1/2 Tablespoon measures, so it was a snap to pull together.

I'm probably never using another pancake recipe again...look at how high they rise!

I’m probably never using another pancake recipe again…look at how high they rise!

Now, to bring this post back ’round to the beginning, I should be using this gift of a successful recipe in a fundraiser for something worthwhile. Will work on that, as soon as I’ve finished my next serving!

pancake breakfast poster

Leave a Reply

