butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Pie for Breakfast

on November 16, 2013

I’ve created my very first recipe from scratch!

Last week, on the other blog I participate in at work,  How to Pickle a Sweater, I posted a gift-from-the-kitchen suggestion of a jar of handmade fig chutney. That reminded me I still have half a jar of those delicious bourbon figs from The Farmer’s Daughter and some pie dough I defrosted this week. This morning, as I leafed through a Chef’s catalog, I ogled a mini-pie maker. Inspiration struck!

lightbulb going off

This will be very inexact; I’ll have to make this again a few times to improve it and ensure consistency, but my mini-pie started like this:

I rolled out enough pie dough to create a bottom crust in an aluminum foil mini-pie pan. I thinned a couple of TBSPs of cream cheese with a splash of milk and mixed in the figs with their juice. I added a TBSP of corn starch to thicken it and poured that into the unbaked crust. I topped it with chopped walnuts mixed with a couple of pinches of brown sugar and baked it at 375° for 30 minutes.

DSC01861

The top and sides of the crust were lovely and crisp; the bottom not so much, so perhaps I’ll pre-bake this next time. The filling tasted yummy and had the consistency of pecan pie. When it cooled a bit, each slice came out of the pie pan beautifully.

DSC01862

Half of this was just right for breakfast.  Eureka!

Now it needs a name:

Tipsy Cream Cheese Mini-Pie (if you use bourbon figs)

Blue-Ribbon Preserves & Cream Cheese Mini-Pie (if you use any quality jam)

Thirty-Minute No-Fail Mini-Pie (oooh, I like that one!)

All suggestions welcome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

