butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Winnie the Pooh on Breakfast

on December 31, 2013

For a project I’m embarking on this New Year, I’m re-reading classic English children’s books. I forgot how perfect Winnie-the-Pooh is. A.A. Milne is so completely right in his depiction of how children think and act; so evocative of the unspoiled beauty of the English countryside; absolutely spot-on about English manners…. It’s no wonder this has cemented itself on the bookshelf of enduring children’s literature. The best always deliver as much pleasure to an adult re-reading them as they did “when we were very young.”

What does this have to do with breakfast? In the last chapter, as Pooh and Piglet are walking and talking, this gem of simple wisdom is exchanged:

“‘When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,’ said Piglet at last, ‘what’s the first thing you say to yourself?’

‘What’s for breakfast?’ said Pooh. ‘What do you say, Piglet?’

‘I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?’ said Piglet.

Pooh nodded thoughtfully. ‘It’s the same thing,’ he said.”

As I devoured this exquisitely told story on Sunday, I got such a craving for honey!

I am never going to see Pooh any other way than as Ernest H. Shepard conceived him.

I am never going to see Pooh any other way than as Ernest H. Shepard conceived him.

I have always wanted to experiment with making one muffin at a time because I hate days-old muffins and yet I can’t bear to throw them out.

DSC01965

This is a cornmeal-cheddar cheese muffin waiting for its rendezvous with G&T Farm honey. Hot, fresh, and delicious! I made the batter this morning and so the test really comes tomorrow when I make another singleton.

Leave a Reply

