butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

TGIF Treat: One-Egg Omelet

on January 3, 2014

One of the reasons I’d rather cook for myself in the mornings is the three-egg (or God forbid, four-egg) omelet the NYC delis and coffee shops serve up. Too much! I find that one egg binds the filling together without overwhelming their flavors.

DSC01970I sauteed a sliced fresh mushroom, three sun-dried tomatoes, and half a shallot in a pat of butter while I whisked one egg with a dash of milk and s/p. I poured that into the vegetables and as it firmed up, I snipped fresh rosemary into it. One flip (I have never, and never will, master the art of rolling omelets, à la Julia Child) and voilà!  There’s protein to keep the hunger pangs away until noon and a solid serving of fresh vegetables.

And why am I posting this at 9:30 on a weekday morning?

11° F right now!

11° F right now!

 

"Winter Storm Hercules dumped 9 inches of snow on New York City last night," according to  New York Post live coverage.

“Winter Storm Hercules dumped 9 inches of snow on New York City last night,” according to New York Post live coverage.

 

 

Leave a Reply

