butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Green In Spite of Ice and Snow

on January 9, 2014

broccoli and cauliflower

Trying to get my cooked greens in every day! I had pulled out a few ideas from Mark Bittman’s NYTimes article, “Sustainable Resolutions  for Your Diet.” The leftover vegetable spread’s perfect.

(Until very recently, the very thought of that would’ve turned me green.)

“Purée any leftover vegetables (as long as they are tender) in the food processor with olive oil, fresh parsley leaves, lemon juice, salt and pepper until the mixture reaches the consistency you want. Serve with bread, crackers or crudités. It’s nice on toast as breakfast.”

I saved a few broccoli and cauliflower florets from dinner and, after I did the dishes, whizzed them in the blender with 3 TBSP olive oil, 2 good squeezes from my plastic lemon, celery leaves (I find them more subtle than parsley), and s/p.

This morning, I pulled this out of the fridge early to bring it to room temperature and piled it on whole wheat toast. My tongue took me back in time to sunny Calif0rnia. (Now if only the greens help me weigh as little.)

Mill Valley, CA c. 1968

Mill Valley, CA c. 1968

Leave a Reply

