butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Rx for a Dreary Day

on January 18, 2014
The skies don't even have the decency to send down some snow.

The skies don’t even have the decency to send down some snow.

I’m not complaining, mind you; I love to spend the day at home. It’s the perfect time to muck about in the kitchen. The only thing for weather like this is to turn on your favorite music and bake.

Not an expert bread baker, I'm trying French bread out of Taste of Home.

Not an expert bread baker, I’m trying French bread out of Taste of Home’s original big cookbook from Deanna Nalvar of Temple, Texas.

I spied a beautiful jar of Black Cherry Jam in my fridge this morning, so French bread seems like just the recipe to play with. So far, so good, but the proof is in the rising.

DSC01980Success!

DSC01981Sometimes I’m sad that I didn’t get started baking and cooking much earlier in life, but then on days like this, I’m so glad I’m not jaded and seeing a simple thing like dough rise is still such a thrill (OK, I’ve got to get out more).

The only creature to whom this wondrous process is more thrilling is Grace who is being driven wild by the smell of yeast. After two more rises… it’s in the oven.

DSC01983Ah, the smell and the reassuring hollow sound when you knock on the bottom of the loaf.

DSC01984No complaints, but “French” is not the adjective I’d use for this. It’s still got a lovely texture, not as a crunchy or airy as a traditional baguette.

So, that’s my dreary day’s adventure in the kitchen, ready in time for my favorite lunch of bread, cheese, sausage and pickles.

DSC01985

 

Leave a Reply

