butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

What I Love About Blogging

on February 20, 2014

Roger Angell wrote a really rich piece in this week’s New Yorker called “This Old Man.” There’s so much any one of us helping an elderly parent navigate their lives can take from this.

Photo by Brigitte Lacombe

Photo by Brigitte Lacombe

His take on blogging is spot-on: “I’ve also become a blogger, and enjoy the ease and freedom of the form: it’s a bit like making a paper airplane and then watching it take wing below your window.” Yes, a blog is definitely publication with a personal touch. People’s passions have room to bloom.

I love this blog because, besides carrying on about breakfast which I do adore, it helps me illustrate the ways in which I haven’t changed, to be reassured of the continuum from youth to (God, how did I get here?!) middle-age. Everything around me might be racing to some cold, robotic, tech-driven future, but I’m still that little girl in the pink party dress, the one who craves her grandfather’s bacon and eggs on Sunday morning, the one who gets up early to read books before the day’s rush starts.  I have never graduated beyond my mom’s simple Sunbeam hand mixer. This is a place where I can say, “My old-fashioned life matters.”

So…I beg your patience while I extol the simple pleasures yet again.

My favorite jug (and when was the last time you heard that word?!):

DSC01701Isn’t that just perfection? My sister-in-law Jan gave me this years ago. Miraculously, though it sits out on the counter so I can use it often, I’ve never chipped it. I think it’s the deliciously naughty suggestion of morning sex in the baguette going through the round loaf that makes me smile.

And what comes of being deliciously naughty in the morning?

Jan Charles Chase

The start of a beautiful family: Chase is the elder brother of Kate. Both children are now so grown-up, but their mom Jan has never lost the golden highlights in her hair or that contented smile. I hope she never does.

Leave a Reply

