butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Girl Scout Cookies for Breakfast!

on March 13, 2014

For someone who doesn’t have a sweet tooth, why do I get so excited when my Girl Scout cookies arrive? They’re my madeleines, one bite and my childhood is there again for me in all its happy, busy, suburban, 1960s, Technicolor glory.

Weston, Connecticut

Brownies in Weston, Connecticut

I’m in the second row, third from the left, looking rather somber. That’s my neighbor and friend Sally Rogers (in whose living room I learned to do the pony) next to me. I’m actually connected today to Dale Coykendall (top row, upper right) via LinkedIn. Amazing how the Internet brings old friends together.

 

Back to breakfast: I got my delivery of Samoas and Do-si-dos yesterday and thought, “Yes! Throwback Thursday Yogurt Parfait!” Vanilla yogurt, fruit from my freezer (strawberries, blueberries, and peaches), and cookie crumbs on top.

Leave a Reply

