butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Hungry Before Noon?

on May 15, 2014

What do you eat to keep yourself going until lunchtime? I always have protein in the morning, but somehow salty protein works better for me than sweet. This morning I had yogurt, blueberries, and a small handful of lightly salted nuts and I am counting the minutes at 11:30am until I can have my soup and salad. This doesn’t happen when I have cottage or hard cheese, eggs, and meats. What’s up with that?

I think it’s the carbs that boost your energy in the short-term: low-fat yogurt has 45 grams of carbs per serving  (39 of them sugars) while shredded mozzarella has 0. The cheese has a lot more saturated fat (20% vs. 8% for the yogurt). I’m not a nutritionist, so this could be wildly off the mark, but I think I’m on to something.

Here’s a valuable article from Weight Watchers that explains how to build a better mix of nutrients in the morning:

“It’s important to combine some protein along with some complex carbohydrates to provide sustained energy throughout the morning,” says Bonnie Taub-Dix, MA, RD, a Long Island–based dietitian in private practice. Opt for no-fuss choices like a slice of cheese on whole-wheat bread, egg whites on toast, whole-grain cereal with low-fat milk, even half a turkey sandwich .

¡buenos días

¡buenos días

Read the whole piece for more sensible advice to keep us from feeling starved.

 

Leave a Reply

