butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

The Cheese Plate at Breakfast

on August 12, 2014

cheese cart

My favorite thing about a French meal is the cheese plate at the end. If I could incorporate that into every meal, I’d be in seventh heaven. When I saw a photo of the juiciest, sweetest-looking watermelon today, I thought, “What about watermelon and feta for breakfast?” (I can hear the howls of protest from France at this leap from their exquisite cart of Brie and Camembert, Epoisses and Emmenthaler to this trendy combo, but there is a big, wide world out there with audacious ideas of satisfaction.) I didn’t have a chance to get to the store today, so I came up with another fruit-and-cheese pairing from what I have in the fridge: tomato and pepper Jack, served with a couple of strips of warm tortilla.

 

A Roma tomato, fragrant and almost sweet, is a good complement to the spicy cheese and nutty   tortilla

A Roma tomato, fragrant and almost sweet, is a good complement to the spicy cheese and nutty tortilla

Havarti and grapes…chèvre and pears…plums and ricotta…of course, the luscious melon and salty feta–there’s no end to the choices, and what a delicious, nutritious start to the day!

 

Leave a Reply

