butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Surprise Inside!

on August 22, 2014

When I’m admonished to eat breakfast because “it’s good for you!” I think of my wonderful mother who ate the skins of her baked potatoes with great gusto so that we might do the same. We balked, she wheedled, we nibbled, she conceded. It left a bad taste in my mouth.

And, in the odd way my minds works, that leads me to remember the cereals of my youth–with a prize inside!

Clever_Critter

So sugary, these cereals sent more dentists’ kids through college than Claiborne Pell. Why did we need the school bus? On those sugar highs, we could’ve run all the way there ourselves.

Now, as a reasonably responsible adult, I try to balance flavor with some modicum of nutrition and a little bit of fun.

That brings me to the breakfast taco.

tacos

I happened to have some ready-made taco shells on the shelf into which I spooned some drained, crumbled breakfast sausage. I added some green salsa and a couple of dollops of sour cream. Downed it with an icy glass of lime water.

limes

Try it, you’ll like it!

2 responses to “Surprise Inside!

  1. Beth, I had to laugh when I read your line about the cereal having so much sugar that we could’ve run all the way to school. That explains a lot! I love the breakfast taco idea. Keep them coming!

    • I can still feel the grit of white sugar on my teeth…it’s a miracle I’ve got any left! No doubt, we’ll find out that’s the secret of longevity and fiber and calcium be damned! Thanks, Maria!

Leave a Reply

