butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Sunday Morning Baking

on April 17, 2016

image

Hunger and laziness can sometimes result in the few minutes’ satisfaction of a bowl of cold cereal or a hot brown loaf of Irish soda bread. When I found one last cup of buttermilk in the fridge this morning, I dug up a recipe for soda bread and jumped in, only to find I didn’t have three cups of all-purpose flour on hand. A mix of whole wheat, white, and barley flours gives this bread a warm toasty color and a richer taste. I guess the barley flour has less gluten, so it’s a little crumbly. But that’s a small price to pay to be able to bake in my jammies. Gotta go, my taste tester is waiting.

image

Leave a Reply

