butterscotchblastoff

Kick start your day with a good breakfast

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery

on May 8, 2016

DSC00030

My mother and grandmother, not to mention my mother-in-law, were very talented with a needle (my mother made all these needlepoint pillows, on my dad’s couch in his NYC apartment today). I used to watch Mom at her sewing machine and my mother-in-law at her knitting and wish I could be that competent. I sleep underneath this elaborate crewel portrait of the Mayflower signed GKB 1940, for Gladys Kathleen Bragger, my mom’s mom, gone way too soon.

image

I love to sew, cross-stitch, do needlepoint, and knit. I’m not as talented yet, but there are years ahead to strive for their level of expertise. To all of these wonderful women, each of them so generous and dedicated, wherever they are, Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

